Attack on Titan, written and illustrated by Hajime Isayama, is a shonen, military thriller. It tells the story of Eren Yeager, a troubled young man who joins the survey corps of the military to seek revenge on the man-eating titans that lurk outside the walls of his community. However, there's more to the titan threat than it seems... and a national conspiracy determined to keep it secret.
We currently have Volumes 1-13 of this manga (34 total).
Attack on Titan faced some controversy toward the end of its run for its depiction of the Eldians, a race whose plight resembled the Jews under Nazi occupation. While some critics claimed the depiction was fascist or anti-Semitic, others argued that the Eldians were intended to be sympathetic. Maus, a graphic novel duology written by Art Spiegelman, makes for a good point of comparison.
Attack on Titan's characters and setting were inspired by military forces throughout history. In this ebook, Alberto Moreno de la Fuente leads an illustrated tour of war, from ancient times to the modern day, showcasing the uniforms, equipment, and weapons that soldiers actually used in their day.
Note: Ebook Central requires a username and password. However, creating a new account is free. Just go to the list of available databases, click Ebook Central, click "Sign In" at the top-right of the screen, and then click "Create Account". Once you are signed in, you may then use the link below to access this resource. The list of available databases can be found here.
Attack on Titan's horror usually comes from its Titans and the fear of being eaten alive. This fear is only compounded when the predators look so much like ourselves. In this ebook, Professor of Psychology David Lester goes over the history of cannibalism and the various reasons why mankind may decide to eat its own.
Note: Ebook Central requires a username and password. However, creating a new account is free. Just go to the list of available databases, click Ebook Central, click "Sign In" at the top-right of the screen, and then click "Create Account". Once you are signed in, you may then use the link below to access this resource. The list of available databases can be found here.
Attack on Titan's first opening theme, "Feuerroter Pfeil und Bogen" (also known as "Guren no Yumiya"), was performed by the symphonic rock group Linked Horizon. Its visuals depict the heroism and desperation of those who struggle against the Titans. It features a blend of Japanese and German vocals, which tie into the story's militaristic setting.
ENGLISH SUBTITLES EMBEDDED IN VIDEO
Attack on Titan's second opening theme, "Jiyuu no Tsubasa" (also known as "Die Flügel der Freiheit"), was performed by the symphonic rock group Linked Horizon. Its visuals depict the nervous optimism of mankind after discovering a new weapon to use against the Titans, a genetic trait that allows certain individuals to shift into Titans themselves.
ENGLISH SUBTITLES EMBEDDED IN VIDEO
Attack on Titan is a massive series (in more ways than one), selling over 140 million copies of the manga. With such big success, it's inevitable that it should receive both glowing praise and bitter criticism. In this video, anime and manga reviewer Totally Not Mark covers the entire series from beginning to end, explaining why he feels that it's a true titan of the industry.
TvTropes is a wiki dedicated to cataloging "tropes" (or "reoccurring story elements") as they appear in various forms of media. It allows users to read summaries of each trope, compare and contrast them with similar tropes, and even seen which tropes the community has identify within specific works or franchises.
Wikipedia is an online encyclopedia that covers a wide range of subjects, from sciences like biology or physics, to works that are significant in pop-culture. While it can offer a decent overview of a particular work or subject, when using it for academic purposes, be sure to review any cited sources to make sure that it is accurate and up-to-date.
Attack on Titan became such a mainstream hit that it was inevitably going to be embroiled in controversy. In this article from The Daily Beast, Kirsten Carey dives into some of those controversies, from accusations of fascism to its contentious ending, while explaining why the series, in some ways, gets a worse rap than its deserves.
About ProQuest: ProQuest is a Traveler Database, which means that it's funded through the Arkansas State Library System. For this reason, the site will automatically check your IP Address to confirm that you're using it within Arkansas. If you aren't able to access this article because your IP Address is out of state, try using another internet connection.
