Fundamentals of Web Development

Provides information on using PHP and MySQL to build and manage database-driven websites.

"Practical SQL is an approachable and fast-paced guide to SQL (Structured Query Language), the standard programming language for defining, organizing, and exploring data in relational databases. The book focuses on using SQL to find the story your data tells, with the popular open-source database PostgreSQL and the pgAdmin interface as its primary tools. You'll first cover the fundamentals of databases and the SQL language, then build skills by analyzing data from the U.S. Census and other federal and state government agencies. With exercises and real-world examples in each chapter, this book will teach even those who have never programmed before all the tools necessary to build powerful databases and access information quickly and efficiently. You'll learn how to: -Create databases and related tables using your own data -Define the right data types for your information -Aggregate, sort, and filter data to find patterns -Use basic math and advanced statistical functions -Identify errors in data and clean them up -Import and export data using delimited text files -Write queries for geographic information systems (GIS) -Create advanced queries and automate tasks Learning SQL doesn't have to be dry and complicated. Practical SQL delivers clear examples with an easy-to-follow approach to teach you the tools you need to build and manage your own databases. This book uses PostgreSQL, but the SQL syntax is applicable to many database applications, including Microsoft SQL Server and MySQL"--. Provided by publisher.

"Hard stuff made easy! Your practical, self-paced guide to Web designWeb Design Demystified covers all of the key concepts and technologies needed to master Web design fundamentals and become proficient in site design and implementation. Learn about the most common tools and best practices, as well as essential design features users expect. The book provides a basic understanding of HTML, XHTML, and CSS, which is the foundation for all Web design. This hands-on tutorial explains the basics of JavaScript, PHP, RSS and other necessary features for today's websites. Testing and verification, search engine optimization, FTP and other essentials of going live are also covered. Each chapter features hands-on exercise and a self-test to verify understanding. A comprehensive final exam covers all the core concepts presented in the book. Web Design Demystified shows how to use the essential technologies for current Web design, including HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and more Provides a complete standalone tutorial in Web design for which no prior experience is required outlines the key topics covered in Web design classes includes end-of-chapter quizzes and a final exam to reinforce learning and pinpoint weaknesses. Step-by-step coverage: getting started; designing for screens; building the pages; all about HTML; all about CSS; integrating HTML and CSS for layout; beyond HTML & CSS; Using Templates; Going Live; Email Design"-- Provided by publisher.
"Learn the latest web site development tools, techniques, and best practices. Web Design DeMYSTiFieDʼ provides the hands-on help you need to get started. Written in a step-by-step format, this practical guide begins by covering web site planning and designing for screens. Then, you'll learn how to build pages, use and integrate HTML and CSS, work with JavaScript, PHP, and XML, and use templates. Get tips for testing and going live as well as information on e-mail design and search engine optimization. Clear examples and concise explanations make it easy to understand the material, and end-of-chapter quizzes and a final exam help reinforce key concepts"-- Provided by publisher.

"Develop cross-platform multimedia applications with HTML5. Now you can create rich, interactive content in the browser and deploy it across all platforms. HTML5 Multimedia Developer's Guide shows you how. You'll learn to use the revolutionary new features of HTML5, including the native audio, video, and drawing elements that eliminate the need for third-party plug-ins. New tags, the simplified doctype, local data storage, drag-and-drop, and geolocation are also covered. Detailed code examples illustrate the techniques discussed. By the end of the book, you'll be able to develop amazing multimedia applications and websites with HTML5. Use canvas for drawing, animation, effects, and events Create and view videos with the native video element Add and play audio files with the native audio element Take advantage of local data storage functions Apply drag-and-drop functionality Build location-aware web pages with the geolocation property Develop well-structured pages using the new semantic layout tags Add functionality to web forms with the new form objects Learn about new CSS3 properties and enhancements Use the editable content and offline files features Work with JavaScript and other technologies"-- Provided by publisher.
"Now you can create rich, interactive content in the browser and deploy it across all platforms. HTML5 Multimedia Developer's Guide shows you how. You'll learn to use the revolutionary new features of HTML5, including the native audio, video, and drawing elements that eliminate the need for third-party plug-ins. New tags, the simplified doctype, local data storage, drag-and-drop, and geolocation are also covered. Detailed code examples illustrate the techniques discussed. By the end of the book, you'll be able to develop amazing multimedia applications and websites with HTML5"-- Provided by publisher.

"This book takes a humorous slant on the programming practice manual by reversing the usual approach: under the pretence of teaching you how to become the world's worst programmer who generally causes chaos, the book teaches you how to avoid the kind of bad habits that introduce bugs or cause code contributions to be rejected. Why be a code monkey when you can be a chaos monkey? OK, so you want to become a terrible programmer. You want to write code that gets vigorously rejected in review. You look forward to reading feedback plastered in comments like WTF?? Even better, you fantasize about your bug-ridden changes sneaking through and causing untold chaos in the codebase. You want to build a reputation as someone who writes creaky, messy, error-prone garbage that frustrates your colleagues. Bad Programming Practices 101 will help you achieve that goal a whole lot quicker by teaching you an array of bad habits that will allow you to cause maximum chaos.Alternatively, you could use this book to identify those bad habits and learn to avoid them. The bad practices are organized into topics that form the basis of programming (layout, variables, loops, modules, and so on). It's been remarked that to become a good programmer, you must first write 10,000 lines of bad code to get it all out of your system. This book is aimed at programmers who have so far written only a small portion of that. By learning about poor programming habits, you will learn good practices. In addition, you will find out the motivation behind each practice, so you can learn why it is considered good and not simply get a list of rules." - Provided by publisher.

Introduces students and researchers to the fundamentals of programming and coding using easy-to-understand language, explaining basic principles of programming and coding, ranging from 3D printing and Algorithms to Waterfall development and Worse-is-better with attention paid to Information visualization, Uncertainty reduction theory, Technology in education, and more.

Explains how to set up and use a computer network, including installing network hardware, understanding protocols, using cloud services, configuring Windows Server 2016 reference, solving network problems, and managing Linux systems.