LibGuides: ENG 2213, ENG 2223 World Literature: Find Database Articles

Literary Research

Use the databases listed below to find articles about authors and their works.

Bloom's Literature
Bloom's Literature examines the lives and works of great writers throughout history. It contains information on thousands of authors and their works, as well as 35,000 characters, an extensive glossary, and more.
Off campus access requires your UACCM username and password.
ProQuest One Literature
Resource for the study and teaching of English literature; integrates the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources. Includes a collection of poetry, prose and drama and a library of full-text journals and author biographies.
Off campus access for Arkansans through the ASL Traveler Database Project.
NOTE: This database seems to have trouble displaying properly in both the Edge and Safari browsers. It is recommended that you use Chrome or Firefox instead.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Gale Literature
Gale Literature provides access to full-text articles about writers and criticism about their work.
Off campus access requires your UACCM username and password.
CultureGrams World Edition
CultureGrams World Edition contains primary source material relating to cultural & statistical country reports, and includes unique information in Native recipes, interviews, photos and videos.
Off campus access for Arkansans through the ASL Traveler Database Project.
Arts & Humanities Database
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Off campus access for Arkansans through the ASL Traveler Database Project.

The Traveler Statewide Resource project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Academic Search Elite
Academic Search Elite contains 2,000+ journals (1,550 peer-reviewed titles) covering computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more.
Off campus access requires your UACCM username and password.

TOPIC TIP!

When deciding on a specific area of research for a topic within world literature, use the acronym G.R.A.P.E.S. Consider what influence the following areas may have had on the writer or the work.

GEOGRAPHY
- Did the geography of the area limit exposure to different cultural influences, or expand it? Did the geography of the region provide protection from invasion, or leave an area vulnerable? How can you see the impact of the geographical area in the work?
RELIGION
- What, if any, religion does the author practice? Were there any religious movements or upheavals happening during the time the work was written? Look for this in the work.
ACHIEVEMENTS
- Were there any significant cultural, political, or scientific achievements that impacted the work or how we perceive it today? For example, the invention of printing press was a major achievement that impacted the way we record and preserve history and literature.
POLITICAL STRUCTURE
- What was the political structure like at the time? Was there political upheaval? How did the commoner or the author of the work respond to the politics of the day? Can you see any influence of political structure in the work?
ECONOMY
- How was the economy and what impact did the economical structure have on the public? On the ruling class? Was trade prominent and did it expose the population to new ideas, cultures and religions?
SOCIAL STRUCTURE
- How did people within the area of the author's origin interact with one another? Was it possible to move between classes? Are the social structures rigid and inescapable? Did everyone enjoy the same privileges? Did women or people of other races and ethnic backgrounds have equal opportunity under the social structure?