The general topic of Medical Sciences can be found in the R-RZ range of call numbers in both the General and Reference collections.
Some Science Reference materials are found in the Science Center of the library.
Books that are specific to Nursing will be found in the RT range of call numbers in both the General and Reference collections.
Books from the General Collection can be checked out using your Student Id for 3 weeks.
The catalog can be accessed here to begin searching for a specific topics.
This is only a sample of the databases you can use for research. To see others check out the A-Z database list.
Gale Health and Wellness is an in-depth, user-friendly resource that provides access to health and wellness information from authoritative medical sources. Find magazines, pamphlets, journals, and websites for health research.
Off campus access requires your UACCM username and password.
Gale OneFile : Health and Medicine provides access to nursing and allied health journals, magazines,newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia.
Off campus access requires your UACCM username and password.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals.
ProQuest Central is a cross-disciplinary research tool with 30 databases that can be searched together or individually.
Off campus access for Arkansans through the ASL Traveler Database Project.
NOTE: This database seems to have trouble displaying properly in both the Edge and Safari browsers. It is recommended that you use Chrome or Firefox instead.
Here are a few free resources from various health organizations that you may use in your research.
When doing research, it is important to find information that is reliable, accurate, and appropriate for your assignment.
Knowing how to evaluate information can help you with research assignments as well as bigger life decisions.
Knowing how to find relevant and accurate information can help you make informed decisions about graduate school, a new car purchase, financial aid, jobs, your health, and more.
Article databases frequently contain a mixture of three broad categories of publications. These include: Popular, Trade/Professional, and Scholarly publications. Depending on which kind of publication an article comes from, you may find great differences in the nature, depth, and accuracy of information provided.
To help you determine what type you're looking at (and what type you may need) here's a basic description of the three categories:
Popular magazine and newspaper articles are written: (1) by general authors, (2) to provide general information, (3) to a general audience.
Trade/Professional publication articles are written: (1) by authors who may be expert in specific industries, (2) to provide general information about the industry, (3) to general members of that industry
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed publication articles are written: (1) by researchers/experts in a particular field, (2) to provide specialized, in-depth information, (3) to other researchers/experts in that field.
To avoid plagiarizing:
