Skip to main content

New Student College Orientation: Library Services

Welcome to the online version of New Student College Orientation! To complete orientation you must review the content included in this guide and complete the quiz on the "What's Next" tab with an 80% or higher before Noon on Thursday, January 11th.

E. Allen Gordon Library Collection

The E. Allen Gordon Library contains over 20,000 library items available for student use. Types of library items include research books, literature, popular fiction, graphic novels, children's books, encyclopedias, dictionaries, DVDs, magazines, newspapers, audiobooks, and sheet music. 

Library items are arranged by their collection and the main collections are: 

  • General
  • Reference
  • Audio/Visual
  • Arkansas
  • Children's 

Image of books in the E. Allen Gordon Library Collection

Interlibrary Loan

UACCM students, faculty, and staff are encouraged to borrow books and journal articles from other libraries for free through the Gordon Library interlibrary loan (ILL) program. Please check our library catalog to ensure that the item is not available before submitting an ILL request.

ILL requests are only checked out for two weeks. It is your responsibility to retrieve an ILL request from the library promptly once you have been notified of its arrival. Availability of renewing an ILL request depends entirely on the loaning institution and must be requested before the due date. If ILL requests are not returned by the due date, the item is damaged, or the item is never returned, the borrower is responsible for any charges from the loaning library. 

Note: Textbooks; reference books; and rare, out of print, or hard to find books may not be available through ILL. 

Circulation

Currently enrolled UACCM students are able to checkout library items by presenting their current UACCM Student ID. Students are allowed to have up to 5 items out on their account at one time. 

Library books check out for three weeks and can be renewed for another three weeks prior to their due date. Library audio/visual materials check out for three days and can be renewed for another three days prior to their due date. 

The library does not charge overdue fines; however, students with long overdue library items or library items out when they graduate/no-longer enrolled in classes will have a hold placed on their account in student accounts. To remove this hold, students can return the borrowed library item or pay the replacement cost for that library item. 

Library staff attempts via email and phone to get ahold of students with overdue library items. 

In-Library Use Items

Due to high demand, instructor request, or the nature of the item, some library items are not eligible for student check out. These include items located in the: 

  • Reference Collection,
  • Reserve Collection, and 
  • Career Pathways Collection.

ARKLink Card

The ARKLink Card program allows UACCM students to use other academic libraries from over fifty participating colleges and universities in Arkansas. With the ARKLink Card, students can study at an academic library that may be more conveniently located.

Examples: Students living in the Conway area can use UCA, Hendrix, or CBC's libraries. Students living in the Russellville area could use Tech's library.

Sign up for a free ARKLink Card at the UACCM library circulation desk.