This image is by ostrograd and licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-ShareAlike License CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.
All About Circuits is one of the world’s largest and most active independent online communities for electrical engineers. Founded in 2004 with only a forum and open-source textbook, AAC has grown over the years into a thriving community of engineers collaborating and sharing expertise. AAC provides resources and facilitates discussion amongst [electrical engineers] to provide real-world solutions to the challenges they face today.
AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by Internet Scout.
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next!
Knowledge Unlatched makes scholarly content freely available to everyone and contributes to the further development of the Open Access (OA) infrastructure. Our online marketplace provides libraries and institutions worldwide with a central place to support OA collections and models from leading publishing houses and new OA initiatives.
From a single point of access in OER Commons, you can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons' growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER. Here are some curated collections to start exploring:
OpenLearn is a free learning platform, delivered by The Open University as part of its Royal Charter commitment to support the wellbeing of the community.
Since its launch in 2006, OpenLearn has become an integrated part of The Open University, with the site attracting over 100 million visitors. Many of these visitors go on to make an enquiry about becoming a formal student, strengthening the journey between informal and formal learning.
LabXchange brings together high-quality content from a variety of sources in the form of online learning assets, including videos, assessments, and simulations. [NOTE: This site does not seem to work well with the MS Edge browser. Try Chrome or Firefox instead.]
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material. All of these items have been contributed by the MERLOT member community, who have either authored the materials themselves, or who have discovered the materials, found them useful, and wished to share their enthusiasm for the materials with others in the teaching and learning community. [NOTE: Much, but not all, of the content in MERLOT is open access.]
HippoCampus.org is a free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animation, and simulations--[on math, the natural and social sciences, and the humanities]...Teachers [can] project HippoCampus content during classroom learning and assign it for computer labs and homework. Students use the site in the evenings for study and exam prep. Users do not need to register or log in to use the site.
SOL*R is a repository service provided by BCcampus that allows BC public post-secondary educators to license, contribute, and access FREE online learning resources. It facilitates sharing, discovery, reuse, and remixing of a growing collection of content.
All resources contributed to SOL*R are licensed to allow intellectual property rights to remain with the original developer, while making the resource available to educators free of charge.
SOL*R includes learning resources from a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Resources range from individual learning activities and tools, all the way to full programs.